Policy Training Series

#PWNVotes: Winning on #HIV in #Election2016!

Tuesday, September 13, 2 PM EDT/1 PM CDT/12 PM MDT/11 AM PDT
Register here: bit.ly/PWNVotesWebinar

As we approach a historic election cycle this fall, we encourage PWN-USA members and allies to remember what’s at stake for people living with HIV and communities most impacted by the epidemic. It’s critical that we vote and ensure our folks are well-informed about their voting rights as well as what will be on the ballot – all the way down to state and local races. Although news about the two major party presidential candidates continues to dominate the media, important issues including interpretation and enforcement of HIV criminalization laws, Medicaid expansion,  minimum wage increases, reproductive rights and women’s health and anti-LGBTQ legislation are at stake on ballots across the nation.

Join us for a conversation about how to effectively leverage your vote and get your community involved this election cycle!

We’ll be discussing tactics and tools to elevate issues for candidates, including bird-dogging and candidate questionnaires, the importance of down-ballot races, get out the vote (GOTV) and working at the polls.

Confirmed speakers include:
Kalpana Krishnamurthy – Forward Together
Tami HaughtSERO Project, Iowa resident, and intractable bird-dogger
Patrica Clark – PWN-USA Michigan member and candidate for Kalamazoo County Commissioner
Loren Jones— PWN-USA Board Member, PWN Bay Area member and election poll-worker

#Election2016

Policy 101: Identifying the Players and the Process for Policy and Advocacy Work

Wednesday, March 30, 1 PM EDT/12 PM CDT/11 AM MDT/10 AM PDT
Register here: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EC54D98582473F
Don’t be intimidated by engaging in policy and advocacy work! This introduction to the policy-making process will help identify policymakers and how legislation is made and implemented. Learn or review how ideas for change can be transformed into laws that govern us all and how to influence the “players” who make it all happen. 

Policy Analysis and Skills Building

Wednesday, April 27, 10am PST/ 11am MST/ 12pm CST/ 1pm EST
Register here: http://www.anymeeting.com/PIID=EC54D985834B31
Public policy influences where and how we live, work, and access services and health care. This webinar will focus on building skills to examine how policies shape our daily lives. Learn to assess the intended and unintended consequences of local, state and federal policies and determine how to change failing and harmful policies. 

Values-Based Messaging for Advocacy

(cross-listed with Regional Organizing & Leadership Development workgroup and Policy workgroup)

Wednesday, May 25 (Time TBD)
Have you ever wondered why so many people seem so willing to believe things politicians or other public figures say that simply aren’t true, or why it’s so hard to win a debate with certain folks, even when all the facts are on your side? People believe in or discard messages based on what appeals to their core values. When you know how to identify those core values and appeal to as many of them as possible in your message, your audience is much more likely to hear and consider your message. In this interactive training, we will learn just how to do that, as well as how to make that message the public platform of your campaign.