Day of Action to End Violence Against Women with HIV: Save the Date, Join the Call

On October 23, 2014, during Domestic Violence Awareness Month, PWN-USA is spearheading a National Day of Action to End Violence Against Women Living with HIV.

Please join us for the first Day of Action planning call on

Thursday, September 4, 3 – 4:30pm PT / 4 – 5:30pm MT / 5 – 6:30pm CT / 6 – 7:30pm ET

to discuss this Day of Action as an opportunity to bring the epidemic of violence against women living with HIV onto the field of national action for Domestic Violence Awareness Month.

Dial-in Number: 1-857-232-0300
Participant Access Code: 5821230#

The day grew in part from the fierce organizing by women in Texas in response to the brutal HIV-related murder of Elisha Henson, and of Cicely Bolden two years prior, in their home state — though violence against women living with HIV, as we know, is absolutely a national issue, with over half of women living with HIV having experienced intimate partner violence, and 58% of transgender women reported violence at home. This brutality cannot continue.

Please bring your thoughts and ideas for how folks can engage in their local and regional areas as well as virtually via social media.

Thanks so much, and please reach out to Olivia at oford.pwnusa@gmail.com with any questions.

Hope to hear you on the call!

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s